Western Film Fair and Nostalgia Convention

Ernest Tubb Award
Coming Attractions
Guest Stars
The Ticket Office
Hotel Information
About Us
Ernest Tubb Award
Contact Us
Year by Year
Great Links


The Ernest Tubb Memorial Award


Throughout the history of western films, country/western music has played an important role in their success. In 1994 the Western Film Fair decided to honor this tradition by presenting an annual award to someone in the music field who has made major contributions through their work in movies, television, recordings, and personal appearances. It was our desire to name this award in memory of someone who had pioneered in all of these categories. It was decided that no one could fill the qualifications better than Hall of Famer and Country Music legend - Ernest Tubb. After discussions with Ernest's son, Justin Tubb, he was most happy that we had chosen to honor his father. Justin worked diligently to help select the honoree and attended the Western Film Fair every year to present the award until his untimely death in 1998. Since that time Johnny Western has assisted in the selection and presentation of the Ernest Tubb Memorial Award.

Past Recipients:

1994                  Justin Tubb
1995                Sheb Wooley
1996             Patsy Montana
1997      Stonewall Jackson
1998          Johnny Western
1999                      Don White
2000             Hank Tompson
2001       Tommy Overstreet
2002     George Hamilton IV
2003                   Freddie Hart
2004         Rose Lee Maphis
2005    The Statler Brothers
2006                Jim Ed Brown
2007                      Jody Miller
2008                 Jean Shepard
2009                  Donna Fargo
  2010                  Dwight Moody
2011                  Gene Watson
2012                 Johnny Meeks
2013                    Rex Allen, Jr.

We look forward to presenting this award to many more worthy recipients in years to come.

"Our Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys and Cowgirls"